World 4U

Free talk about everything connected to culture and "culture" :O)

Wednesday, November 10, 2004

No Golden Globe For Passion and Fahrenheit

Fahrenheit 9/11 and The Passion cannot win the top prize at the Golden Globes. Michael Moore cannot enter his film since the Golden Globes do not have a category for documentaries. Gibson's Passion cannot compete because only movies that are in English are eligible for the dramatic-picture trophy. Passion is in Aramaic and Latin, with English subtitles.

The Passion will, however, be considered in the category set aside for foreign-language films. "Yes, we know Aramaic is not a spoken language, and yes, we know the film doesn't have a country of origin," said HFPA president Lorenzo Soria. “But our bylaws state that when a film is in a language that is preponderantly non-English, it's a foreign-language film."

Lawrie Masterson, the chairman of the HFPA's board of directors, said the exclusion of Fahrenheit 9/11 and The Passion is a shame, but the organization cannot change its rules at this stage.


Post a Comment

<< Home

Best Links